I want Jude Nelson’s hair, is that so bad?!


Just don’t ask where I’ve been…! I’ve seen stuff and it took me long to get over them.
This week amongst other things it’s movie week. One movie I’d really like to talk to you about is The Breakfast Club. I don’t know how but I didn’t get to watch it as a kid. Call it bad timing with the TV guide call whatever you want. Anyways, I had to look it up,downlo…rent it and watch it by myself. And boy is it one of those movies that stick with you.

so there I was sitting on my desk….well on a chair close to my desk to be exact, enjoying a cup of coffee and pressing play on what I thought was just an ’80s high school chick flick. So I was pretty excited as you can understand! Before I go off explaining the plot a bit like I usually do let me say that if you didn’t like The Breakfast Club, then you better forget about me…! (That’s where you’re supposed to laugh, nevermind..)

So… a douche-y teacher(Paul Gleason) is called to supervise an 8-hour Saturday detention some of his students got. John Bender (Jude Nelson), Claire (Molly Ringwall), Andrew(Emilio Estevez), Brian( Anthony Michael Hall) and Allison(Ally Sheedy). At first and for the rest of the movie Bender is the rudely honest prick and at first they all don’t get along very well. He seems to be the only one with an array of past parental abuse and mental scarring but that’s far from correct. At this point anything I say will ruin the plot of the movie so all I’m gonna say is that no one dies.

This movie serves your self-righteousness right back in your face. Gets you out of your box and breaks the stereotypes Varsity Blue would set again, 14 years later. No one is perfect and no one has it that much worse than everyone else. It’s more often than usual that people try to pretend they’re the saddest in the world. What an illusion that is. No one cares enough to ask about what’s really bothering us all in order to find out that other people have issues too. We all deal with them in different ways, some are better at hiding them than others, some are strong enough to overcome them and some even go through them in one piece. It’s silly to assume that someone has no problems just by the way they act, stupid to assume that whatever it is it’s not as bad as yours and even more stupid if you let these issues stand between you.

An iconic film that feels like… I’ve always had watched I just didn’t know I did. Again I’m sorry universe I’m make it up to you.

Overall it’s more than a great movie I wish I had already watched. I know this is no pro review, just some of my feelings abut the movie all I could put into words at least…”Who am I..? Who am I..? I am a Walrus.” Gonna watch Easy A now. Bye.

Quote of the day: “Hope will never be silent” Harvey Milk

Ok for the band of the day, no it’s not Simple Minds….! It’s Buddy Holly with “Ready Teddy” and “Every day”

Yours

Some john.

About somejohn

Hi. My name is John. It's a really exotic name given to me by my hippie parents. It's caused me to become cynical, sarcastic, short-tempered and socially impaired. Let's have fun together, shall we?! View all posts by somejohn

Leave a Reply

